American Association of Family & Consumer Sciences (AAFCS)

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) was established by the American Home Economics Association (AHEA) Foundation in 1979 as a living tribute to members of AHEA (now AAFCS) to recognize superior achievements in family and consumer sciences, outstanding contributions to the family and consumer sciences profession, and sustained association leadership at both state and national levels.

A complete list of all DSA Recipients may be found here. A permanent collection of DSA names and photos are housed at AAFCS headquarters in Virginia, as well. AAFCS is truly thankful to all of our past DSA Recipients, as well as our voluntary DSA coordinators and supporters.  As individuals, each exemplifies the strength and dedication of our entire membership and the best of our profession.

Update Regarding 2018 DSA Campaign - Nominations are due August 25, 2017. Nominations guidelines for 2018 are here. Please email AAFCS at with questions.

    2017 DSA Campaign

AAFCS is honored to announce our 2017 Distinguished Service Award Recipients:

Carol Kellett

Mary Turner Gilliland

Ethel G. Jones, CFCS

AAFCS looks forward to featuring our 2017 "DSAs" in the upcoming Journal of Family & Consumer Sciences and at our Annual Conference & Expo in Dallas, Texas in June 2017.

Honoring the DSAS