American Association of Family & Consumer Sciences (AAFCS)


The 2017 Awards and Recognition Application Period is Closed as of Jan. 9, 2017


The 2017 Awards and Recognition application period is closed and the Awards & Recognition Committee is reviewing the 2017 applications and nominations. We anticipate that applicants will be notified in early March 2017 of the results. Once all the applicants have been notified, the results will be posted on this page. Information about the 2018 Awards and Recognition offered by AAFCS will be available in Fall 2017. If you have any queestions, please contact us at

The 2016 Awards, Fellowships, and Scholarships have been awarded! Learn about our 2016 winners below!

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) was established by the American Home Economics Association (AHEA) Foundation in 1979 as a living tribute to members of AHEA (now AAFCS) to recognize superior achievements in family and consumer sciences, outstanding contributions to the family and consumer sciences profession, and sustained association leadership at both state and national levels. You can learn more about our “DSA’s” here:

2016 Winners

Learn more about the Teacher of the Year here!

Learn more about the recipient of the Jewell L. Taylor National Undergraduate Scholarship here!

Learn more about the recipients of the Graduate Fellowships here!




Top of Page