American Association of Family & Consumer Sciences (AAFCS)


HEU Members

Southern Region

ALABAMA

  •   Alabama A&M University
    Dr. Cynthia M. Smith, Chair
    Department of Family and Consumer Sciences
    Alabama A&M University
    PO Box 639
    Normal, AL 35762
    Phone: 256-851-5419 Fax: 205-851-5433
    Email: cynthia.smith@email.aamu.edu

 

  •   University of Alabama
    Dr. Milla D. Boschung, Dean
    College of Human Environmental Sciences
    University of Alabama
    PO Box 870158
    Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0158
    Phone: 205-348-6250 Fax: 205-348-3789
    Email: mboschun@ches.ua.edu

 

  •   University of Montevallo
    Dr. Frances E Andrews, RD, Chair
    Department of Family and Consumer Sciences
    University of Montevallo
    Bloch Hall, Station 6385
    Montevallo, AL 35115-6000
    Phone: 205-665-6385 Fax: 205-665-6387
    Email: andrews@montevallo.edu

 

Dr. Debra K. Goodwin, Department Head
Department of Family and Consumer Sciences
Jacksonville State University
108 East Mason Hall
Jacksonville, AL 36265
Phone: 256-782-5053 Fax: 256-782-5916
Email: dgoodwin@jsu.edu

Dr. Jane Wilson
Department of Human Environmental Sciences
University of Northern Alabama
PO Box 5030
Florence, AL 35630
Phone: 256-765-4313 Fax: 256-765-4902
Email: jnwilson@una.edu

Dr. June Henton, Dean
School of Human Sciences
Auburn University
210 Spindle Hall
Auburn , AL 36849-5601
Phone: 334-844-3790 Fax: 334-844-3749
Email: jhenton@auburn.edu

ARKANSAS

  •   University of Arkansas at Fayetteville
    Mary M. Warnock, Director
    School of Human Environmental Sciences
    University of Arkansas
    Fayetteville, 118 Home Economics Building
    Fayetteville, AR 72701
    Phone: 479-575-4310 Fax: 479-575-7171
    Email: mwarnock@uark.edu

 

  •   University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
    Dr. Edith G. Neal Hyman, Chair
    Department of Human Sciences
    University of Arkansas
    1200 N. University Drive, Box 4971
    Pine Bluff, AR 71611
    Phone: 870-575-8813 Fax: 870-575-8823
    Emal: hyman_e@uapb.edu

 

Dr. Beth Wilson, CFCS, CFLE, Chair
Dept. of Family and Consumer Sciences
Harding University
Box 12233
Searcy, AR 72149-0001
Phone: 501-279-4472 Fax: 501-279-4098
Email: bwilson@harding.edu

Dr. Patti Miley, Chair
Department of Family and Consumer Sciences
Henderson State University
Box 7510
Arkadelphia, AR 71999
Phone: 870-230-5055 Fax: 870-230-5172
Email: mileyp@hsu.edu

FLORIDA

  •   Florida State University
    Dr. Penny Ralston, Dean
    College of Human Sciences
    Florida State University
    242 Sandels Building
    Tallahassee, FL 32306-1490
    Phone: 850-644-1281 Fax: 850-644-0700
    Email: pralston@mailer.fsu.edu

 

Dr. Nayda Torres, Chair
Department of Family, Youth and Community Sciences
University of Florida
McCarty Hall, PO Box 110310
Gainsville, FL 32611-0310
Phone: 352-392-1778 x221 Fax: 352-392-8196
Email: initorres@ifas.ufl.edu

GEORGIA

  •   Fort Valley State University
    Dr. Linda D. Johnson, Interim Chair
    Department of Family and Consumer Sciences
    Fort Valley State University
    Meyers Hall, PO Box 4622
    Fort Valley, GA 31030
    Phone: 478-825-6236 Fax: 478-825-6078
    Email: johnsonl@fvsu.edu

 

  •   University of Georgia
    Dr. Anne Sweaney, Interim Dean
    College of Family and Consumer Sciences
    University of Georgia
    224 Dawson Hall
    Athens, GA 30602-2611
    Phone: 706-542-4879 Fax: 706-542-4862
    Email: asweaney@fcs.uga.edu

    Dr. Henry Eisenhart, Department Chair
    Department of Hospitality, Tourism, and Family & Consumer Sciences
    Georgia Southern University
    Landrum Box 8034
    Statesboro, GA 30460
    Phone: 912-681-5345 Fax: 912-681-0276
    Email: henry_e@georgiasouthern.edu

LOUISIANA

  •   Louisiana State University
    Dr. Roy J. Martin, Director
    School of Human Ecology
    Louisiana State University
    125 Human Ecology Building
    Baton Rouge, LA 70803-4300
    Phone: 225-578-2281 Fax: 225-578-2697
    Email: rjmartin@lsu.edu

 

  •   Louisiana Tech University
    Dr. Janet Pope, Dean
    School of Human Ecology
    Louisiana Tech University
    PO Box 3167
    Ruston, LA 71272
    Phone: 318-257-3727 Fax: 318-257-4014
    Email: pope@ans.latech.edu

  •   McNeese State University
    Dr. Debra Hollingsworth, Dept. Head
    College of Family and Consumer Sciences
    McNeese State University
    PO Box 92820
    Lake Charles, LA 70609
    Phone: 318-475-5683 Fax: 318-475-5681
    Email: dholling@mail.mcneese.edu

 

  •   Nicholls State University
    Dr. Leslie Jones, Dean
    College of Education
    Nicholls State University
    PO Box 2053
    Thibodaux, LA 70310
    Phone: 985-448-4325 Fax: 985-448-7073
    Email: leslie.jones@nicholls.edu

 

  •   Northwestern State University of Louisiana
    Dr. Patricia N. Pierson, Head
    Department of Family and Consumer Sciences
    Northwestern State University of Louisiana
    Natchitoches, LA 71497
    Phone: 318-357-5587 Fax: 318-357-5009
    Email: pierson_p@nsula.edu  

 

  •   Southern University and A&M College
    Dr. Doze Y. Bulter, Associate Dean
    Division of Family and Consumer Sciences
    Southern University and A&M College
    Southern Branch, PO Box 9614
    Baton Rouge, LA 70813
    Phone: 225-771-4660 Fax: 225-771-2400
    Email: doze_butler@subr.edu

 

  •   University of Lousiana at Monroe
    Dr. Rene Jackson, Head
    Department of Family and Consumer Sciences
    University of Louisiana at Monroe
    FCSC, Filhiol Hall 103
    Monroe, LA 71209-0560
    Phone: 318-342-1903 Fax: 318-342-1906
    Email: rjackson@ulm.edu

 

  •   Southeastern Louisiana University
    Dr. Mary Ballard, Interim Dept Head
    Department of Human Development
    Southeastern Louisiana University
    SLU 10863
    Hammond, LA 70402
    Phone: 985-549-2309 Fax: 985-549-3758
    Email: mballard2@selu.edu

 

MISSISSIPPI

  •   Alcorn State University
    Dr. Wanda Y. Newell, Chair
    Department of Human Sciences
    1000 ASU Drive, No. 839
    Alcorn State,MS 39096
    Phone: 601-877-6252 Fax: 601-877-3960
    Email: wnewell@alcorn.edu

 

  •   Delta State University
    Dr. Janice B. Haynes
    Division of Family & Consumer Sciences
    Delta State University
    PO Box 3273-DSU
    Cleveland, MS 38733
    Phone: 662-846-4322 Fax: 662-846-4314
    Email: jhaynes@deltastate.edu

 

  •   Mississippi State University
    Dr. Gary Jackson, Director
    School of Human Sciences
    Mississippi State University
    PO Box 9475
    Mississippi State, MS 39762
    Phone: 662-325-2950 Fax: 601-325-8188
    Email: gjackson@humansci.msstate.edu

 

  •   University of Southern Mississippi
    Jeff Hinton, Chair
    Dept of Family and Consumer Sciences
    University of Southern Mississippi
    118 College Dr # 5035
    Hattiesburg, MS 39406-0001
    Phone: 601-266-5661 Fax: 601-266-4680
    Email: Jeff.Hinton@usm.edu

 

NORTH CAROLINA

  •   North Carolina A&T State University
    Dr. Gladys G. Shelton, Chair
    Dept of Family and Consumer Sciences
    North Carolina A&T State University
    102 Benbow Hall, 1601 East Market Street
    Greensboro, NC 27411
    Phone: 336-334-7850 Fax: 336-334-7265
    Email: gshelton@ncat.edu

 

  •  Appalachian State University
    Dr. Sarah Jordan, Chair
    Department of Family & Consumer Sciences
    Appalachian State University
    P.O. Box 32056
    Boone, NC 28608-2056
    Phone: 828-262-2663 Fax: 828-265-8620
    Email: jordansr@appstate.edu

 

Dr. Karla Hughes, Dean
College of Human Ecology
East Carolina University
238 Rivers, RW 238
Greenville, NC 27858
Phone: 252-328-6891 Fax: 252-328-4276
Email: hughesk@mail.ecu.edu

Dr. Deborah Tippett, Chair
Department of Human Environmental Sciences
Meredith College
3800 Hillsborough Street
Raleigh, NC 27607
Phone: 919-760-8325 Fax: 919-760-2819
Email: tiooettd@meredith.edu

OKLAHOMA

There are currently no members of the Higher Education Unit from this state.

PUERTO RICO

There are currently no members of the Higher Education Unit from this state.

SOUTH CAROLINA

  •   South Carolina State University
    Dr. Valerie L. Colyard, Chair Department of Family and Consumer Sciences
    South Carolina State University
    300 College Street, NE
    Orangeburg, SC 29117-0001
    Phone: 803-536-9597 Fax: 803-533-3628
    Email: vcolyard@scsu.edu

TENNESSEE

  •   Carson-Newman College
    Dr. Kitty R. Coffey, Dean
    Department of Family and Consumer Sciences
    Carson-Newman College
    Box 71881
    Jefferson City, TN 37760
    Phone: 865-471- 3295 Fax: 865-471-3502
    Email: kcoffey@cn.edu

 

  •   Tennessee State University
    Dr. Gearldean Johnson, Head
    Department of Family and Consumer Sciences
    Tennessee State University
    3500 John Merritt Blvd.
    Nashville, TN 37209-1561
    Phone: 615-963-5617
    Fax: 615-963-5033
    Email: gejohnson@tnstate.edu

 

  •   Middle Tennessee State University
    Dr. Dellmar Walker, RD, Chair
    Department of Human Sciences
    Middle Tennessee State University
    1301 E Main St, Ellington Hum Sci Bldg
    Murfreesboro, TN 37132
    Phone: 615-898-5741 Fax: 615-898-5130
    Email: dewalker@mtsu.edu

 

  •   Tennessee Technological University
    Dr. Sue Bailey, Director
    School of Human Ecology
    Tennessee Technological University
    PO Box 5035
    Cookeville, TN 38505
    Phone: 931-372-3157 Fax: 931-372-3150
    Email: sbailey@tntech.edu

 

  •   University of Memphis
    Dr. David Arant, Associate Dean
    Family and Consumer Studies Program
    University of Memphis
    Manning Hall Room 404
    Memphis, TN 38152
    Phone: 901-678-4596 Fax: 901-678-4913
    Email: darant@memphis.edu

 

  •   University of Tennessee at Martin
    Dr. Lisa C. LeBleu, Chair
    Dept. of Family and Consumer Sciences
    University of Tennessee
    Gooch Hall, Room 340
    Martin, TN 38238-5045
    Phone: 731-587-7100 Fax: 731-587-7106
    Email: llebleu@utm.edu

 

  •   University of Tennessee at Knoxville
    Dr. Robert Rider, Dean
    College of Education, Health & Human Sciences
    University of Tennessee
    335 Claxton Complex
    Knoxville, TN 37996-3400
    Phone: 865-974-2201 Fax: 865-974-8718
    Email: brider@utk.edu

 

Angela Radford Lewis CFCS
College of Business & Technology
East Tennessee State University
PO Box 70671
Johnson City, TN 37614-0553
Phone: 423-439-7534 Fax: 423-439-7539
Email: lewisar@etsu.edu

TEXAS

  •   Baylor University
    Dr. Suzy Weems, Chair
    Department of Family and Consumer Sciences
    Baylor University
    Box 97346
    Waco, TX 76798-7346
    Phone: 254-701-3626 Fax: 254-710-3629
    Email: suzt_weems@baylor.edu

 

  •   Stephen F. Austin State University
    Dr. Lynda Martin, Director
    School of Human Sciences
    Stephen F. Austin State University
    PO Box 13014- SFA Station
    Nacogdoches, TX 75962-3014
    Phone: 936-468-4502 Fax: 936-468-2140
    Email: martinlj@sfasu.edu

 

  •   Texas Tech University
    Dr. Linda Hoover, Dean
    College of Human Sciences
    Texas Tech University
    PO Box 41162
    Lubbock, TX 79409-1162
    Phone: 806-742-3031 Fax: 806-742-1849
    Email: linda.hoover@ttu.edu

 

Dr. Janis H. White, Chair
Department of Consumer Sciences
Sam Houston State University
Box 2177
Huntsville, TX 77341-2177
Phone: 936-294-1242 Fax: 936-294-4204
Email: hec_jhw@shsu.edu

Dr. Jane B. Dennis, Head
Department of Human Sciences
Tarleton State University
Box T-0380 Tarelton Station
Stephenville, TX 76402
Phone: 254-968-9196 Fax: 254-968-9728
Email: dennis@tarleton.edu

Dr. Janis B. Van Buren, Chair
Human Sciences Department
Texas A&M University
Campus Box 168
Kingsville, TX 78363
Phone: 361-593-2211 Fax: 361-593-2230
Email: kfjv000@tamuk.edu

Dr. Maria Canabal, Chair
Dept. of Family and Consumer Sciences
Texas State University - San Marcos
601 University Drive
San Marcos, TX 78666
Phone: 512-245-2155 Fax: 512-245-3829
Email: MC57@txstate.edu

VIRGINIA

Mrs. Matalie Howard, Chair
Department of Family and Consumer Sciences
Liberty University
1971 University Blvd
Lynchburg, VA 24502-2269
Phone: 434-592-3682 Fax: 434-582-2554
Email: mhoward@liberty.edu

  • Legend
      Indicates AAFCS has granted accreditation.
      Indicates AAFCS has granted provisional accreditation.