CFCS: Certified in Family and Consumer Sciences

Beginning in 1987, the American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS) certification program now proudly offers three gold-standard, assessment-based certifications for Family and Consumer Sciences professionals:

        • CFCS: Certified in Family and Consumer Sciences
        • CFCS-HDFS: Certified in Human Development and Family Studies
        • CFCS-HNFS: Certified in Hospitality, Nutrition, and Food Science

The professional certifications are:

  • developed by content experts and leaders,
  • consistent with national content standards, and
  • open to professionals across related disciplines and practice settings.

How does a professional earn a CFCS series certification?

  • Pass the competency exam associated with the credential - Click here to learn more about exam content and format and to register for an exam administration
  • Within 10-14 days after successful completion of the competency exam, candidates will receive an exam notification and certification application via email.
  • Upon receipt of the certification application, submit the application and official transcript verifying completion of a baccalaureate degree
  • Pay the initial certification application fee according to the following fee schedule:
    • Current AAFCS Members: $185 initial certification fee
    • Graduating Seniors (full-time university, college, or post-secondary students): $105 initial certification fee
    • Nonmembers of AAFCS: $285 initial certification fee
    • NOTE:  The initial certification fee covers the cost of obtaining the certification credential and the first year of certification. An annual renewal fee of $65 is assessed in September of each year (beginning at least 12 months following initial certification).
  • Ascribe to the Professional Code of Ethics

How does a professional maintain a CFCS series certification?

  • Pay an annual maintenance fee ($65 for active; $55 for retired)
  • Meet professional development requirements - As a measure of quality assurance, maintaining the CFCS series credential carries a requirement of completing a minimum of 75 professional development units (PDUs with 1 PDU equaling 1 clock hour) over a period of 3 years. To qualify, the professional development must be related to the competencies identified as the basis for the certification.  Click here for details on reporting professional development activities and renewing certification.