About Our Affiliate

District Organization of NYSAFCS

The New York State Association of Family and Consumer Sciences is organized in districts determined by the Board of Directors. Each district elects officers and appoints committees to aid in national and state programs, and develops activities to meet district needs. Each district shall be represented on the NYSAFCS Board of Directors.

Central Western Counties:

  • Allegany, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Wayne & Wyoming

Eastern Counties:

  • Albany, Clinton, Columbia, Dutchess, Essex, Fulton, Green, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Ulster, Warren & Washington

Long Island:

  • Nassau and Suffolk Counties & Borough of Queens

Western Counties:

  • Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, & Niagara Counties

Central Members-at-large Counties:

  • Cayuga, Franklin, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis Madison, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, Seneca & St Lawrence Counties

Southeastern Members-at-large:

  • Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Westchester & the New York City Boroughs of Manhattan, Staten Island, Bronx & Brooklyn

Southern Members-at-large Counties:

  • Broom, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Otsego, Schuyler, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins & Yates Counties

Persons from the areas Central, Southeastern & Southern who do not choose to affiliate with any other district are considered members-at-large. Persons in these areas are encouraged to form “local groups” to continue their professional interests. Members from these areas will be asked to be representatives on NYSAFCS Board of Directors.