Blog Viewer

AAFCS Set to Celebrate 2021 Award, Fellowship, and Scholarship Honorees!

By Sophy Mott posted 05-19-2021 04:48 PM


#FCSsuccess is in the air! AAFCS is excited to celebrate our 2021 recipients of awards, fellowships, and scholarships. Each exemplifies the positive impact family and consumer scientists have on individuals, families, and communities. From student scholars to early career and established Professionals to service-oriented Emeritus members, their commitment to excellence is noteworthy.

We look forward to learning more about them in the coming weeks and honoring them at our 2021 Virtual Conference, and we invite you to join us! Click on the Recognition category to meet our honorees!

2021 Distinguished Service Award Honorees
  • Joanne Bankston, Ph.D., Kentucky Affiliate 
  • Karen Bergh, Ph.D., Washington Affiliate
  • Duane Whitbeck, Ph.D., Kansas Affiliate
2021 Leader Award Honorees

  • Janine M. Duncan, CFCS, Kansas Affiliate
  • Sharon "Sha" Pate, Florida Affiliate
  • Jeanne Schwass-Long, CFCS, Wisconsin Affiliate
  • Nancy M. Shepherd, Texas Affiliate
  • Alice Spangler, CFCS-Retired, Indiana Affiliate
2021 New Achiever Award Honorees
  • Nicole Heflin, Indiana Affiliate
  • Rebekah Luong, CFCS, Arkansas Affiliate
2021 Teacher of the Year
  • Lori Henry, Minnesota Affiliate
2021 Teacher of the Year Merit Finalist
  • Charlene Kelley, Wisconsin Affiliate

2021 Affiliate Top Teachers of the Year

  • Brandi Ammons, West Virginia Affiliate
  • Erin Byrnes, Pennsylvania Affiliate
  • Marla Sterling, Kansas Affiliate

2021 Fellowship Recipients

  • Kristian Hogans, Mary Cochran Fellowship
  • Tania Naber, Mildred Davis Fellowship, Georgia Affiliate
  • Charlene Smith, Jewell Taylor Fellowship, Pennsylvania Affiliate
2021 Scholarship Recipient
  • Kenzlee Camp, Jewell Taylor Scholarship